I MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2005 (FIRST) Regular Session

Executive Comm. Resolution No. 57 (EC)

Introduced by:

L. F. Kasperbauer I. T. Won Pat

Relative to commending and congratulating the National State Teachers of the Year, Guam Chapter for their success in hosting the 2005 National State Teacher of the Year (NSTOY) Conference on the occasion of its Silver Anniversary; and to recognizing the commitment and dedication of visiting National State Teachers of the Year, conference planners, participants and supporters towards educating; and their overall pursuit of excellence in education on Guam and throughout the world.

1 BE IT RESOLVED BY I MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN

2 GUÅHAN:

3 WHEREAS, the National State Teachers of the Year, Guam Chapter 4 recognize the importance and value of experience that top educators from 5 throughout the continental Unites States, its territories, and school systems are 6 able to offer and share with all teachers; and

WHEREAS, the National State Teachers of the Year, Guam Chapter,
successfully bid to host the 2005 National State Teachers of the Year (NSTOY)
Conference on the occasion of its Silver Anniversary; and

WHEREAS, a conference of this magnitude has brought forth some of
the best and brightest minds in education from throughout the nation who've

200 S HILL THE SUIT

1 collectively offered their individual and priceless contributions towards the 2 goal of improving the island's educating process; and

3 WHEREAS, this year's conference theme entitled, "Children Are The 4 Sunshine of Education" is a fitting reminder that the focus in every classroom 5 are the schoolchildren and that education is the way; and

6 WHEREAS, I Liheslaturan Guåhan recognizes the truly generous service from the outstanding and dedicated National State Teachers of the 7 8 Year, who've come to the island on their own accord and expense with the inherent desire to assist in the improvement of education for all 9 10 schoolchildren and school systems; and

11 WHEREAS, I Liheslaturan Guåhan does hereby, on behalf of the people of Guam join in thanking the individual National State Teachers of the Year, 12 13 including Ms. Tamara Steen, 2005 Washington; Ms. Katherine A. Stahl, 1995 14Indiana; Mr. Jerry Pierce, 1995 Iowa; Ms. Marcia J. Ritter, 1995 Missouri; Ms. Joan Brummond, 1995 Wyoming; Mr. Art Peekel, 1992 Illinois; Ms. Edna 15 Loveday Rogers, 1989 Tennessee; Ms. Glenda Watkins, 1988 Kansas; Ms. 16 17 Jeanne B. Crews, 1984 Missouri; Ms. Lynda Paznokas, 1982 Oregon; and guest 18 presenter Ms. Vicki P. Minchener; for their contributions and knowledge 19 sharing during the NSTOY Silver Anniversary conference; and be it further

20 **RESOLVED**, that I Mina' Bente Ocho Na Liheslaturan Guåhan does hereby, 21 on behalf of the people of Guam, join in recognizing and congratulating a 22 distinguished list of National State Teachers of the Year from the Guam 23 Chapter that include 2005 Conference Chair, Ms. Barbara Gilman – 1999; Ms. 24 Gina B. Wusstig – 2005; Ms. Carroll Flores – 2002; Ms. Beverly San Agustin – 25 2001; Mr. Josh Ledbetter – 2000; and Ms. Roberta Abaday – 1998; for their diligent efforts, fundraisers and hosting of the 2005 National State Teachers of
 the Year Conference; and be it further

3 **RESOLVED**, that *I Mina'Bente Ocho Na Liheslaturan Guåhan* hereby 4 recognize the commitment and dedication of all conference planners, 5 participants and supporters towards educating; and their overall pursuit of 6 excellence in education on Guam; and be it further

7 **RESOLVED**, that the Speaker certify, and the Secretary of the 8 Legislature attest to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of the same be 9 thereafter transmitted to all Officers of the National State Teacher of the Year, 10 Guam Chapter including Ms. Barbara Gilman, President; Ms. Beverly San 11 Agustin, Vice President; Ms. Roberta Abaday, Secretary; Mr. Josh Ledbetter, 12 Treasurer; Ms. Carroll Flores, member; to visiting National Teachers of the 13 Year and Guest conference presenters including Ms. Tamara Steen, Ms. 14 Katherine A. Stahl, Mr. Jerry Pierce, Marcia J. Ritter, Ms. Joan Brummond, 15 Mr. Art Peekel, Ms. Edna Loveday Rogers, Ms. Glenda Watkins, Ms. Jeanne B. 16 Crews, Ms. Lynda Paznokas, and Ms. Vicki P. Minchener; to Juan P. Flores, 17 Superintendent of Education, Guam Public School System; and to the 18 Honorable Felix P. Camacho, I Maga'lahen Guåhan.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY *I MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN* ON THE ____ DAY OF ___ 2005.

the strange	MARK FORBES Speaker	EDWARD J.B. CALVO Senator and Secretary of the Legislature
19		
20		
21		